HISTORY OF IMMACULATE CONCEPTION- RUIRI PARISH.

Immaculate conception Ruiri catholic parish is found in the catholic Diocese of Meru, in eastern region of Kenya. The parish was started in 19076 under the care of the Consolata missionaries. While under consalata missionaries the parish had 12 prayer houses with an estimated population of 750 Christians. In 1984 the Conventual Franciscan Friars were given to be under the care of the parish by the late Bishop Silas Njiru. This became the first mission of friars in east Africa. Since 1984, under the care of the Friars, the mission has Grown significantly. The estimated number of Christians are 3500 in the entire parish. Geographically the parish is quite vast. Currently, the parish is sub-divided into 4 sub-parishes namely; Centre, muramba, kabutukii and Ndunyu-sabu. Centre sub-parish consist of immaculate conception centre, St. James riachu, St. martin mukungu, St. Francis of Assisi mutuuma and St. Augustine luuria. There are 45 small Christian communities in centre sub-parish which are distributed in the five prayer houses.

Centre sub-parish

Centre main church is made up of seventeen small Christian communities. These are; St. Francis of Assisi, St. Gabriel, St. Mary, St. Bonaventure, St. Clare, St. Faustina, St. Michael, St. Raphael, St. joseph Cupertino, St. joseph the husband of Mary, St. padre pio, St. Maximillian, St. Anthony of padua, St. Margaret of cortona, St. Catherine, St. john and St. peter and Paul. There are two Sunday masses celebrated at centre main church; 7:00 AM in English and 9:00AM in kimeru.

St. James Riachu prayer house has ten small Christian communities, which includes. Francis of Assisi, St. Clare, St. Faustina, St. Bonaventure, St. Gabriel, St. peter and Paul, St. Mary, St. Raphael, St. Michael and St. Joseph husband of Mary. Sunday mass at this station is at 8:00Am.

St. mark mukungu prayer house has eight small Christian communities. These are; St. joseph, St. Anthony, St. Maximillian, St. Francis, St. Mary, St. Raphael, St. Michael and St. Clare. Sunday mass here is at 8:00Am.

St. Augustine Luuria prayer house has six small Christian communities which includes; St. Francis, St. Mary, St. joseph, St. Gabriel and St. Michael.

St. Francis of Assisi Mutuuma prayer house has four small Christian communities. These are; St. Mary, St. Maximillian, St. Francis and St. joseph. Sunday mass here is at 10;00AM.

Muramba sub-parish

This sub-parish is composed of seven prayer houses with twenty-two small Christian communities distributed in all prayer houses.

St. Francis of Assisi Muramba centre prayer house has seven small Christian communities. They include; St. Francis, St. Clare, St. Michael, St. joseph, St. Cecilia, St. Teresa and St. Stephen. Sunday mass here is at 8:00Am.

St. Maximillian Libubungi prayer house has five small Christian communities. They include St. Mary, St. Monica, St. Teresa, St. Jude and St. Angela. Sunday mass here is at 8:00AM

Our lady queen of Africa mumui prayer house has three small Christian communities.

They are; St. peter, St. Paul and St. Dominic. Sunday mass here is at 10:00AM.

St. Joseph the worker Thau prayer house has three small Christian communities. They are; St. Luke, St. Stephen and St. mark. Sunday mass here is at 10:00Am.

St. joseph muthiru prayer house has two small Christian communities. They include; St. mark and St. Catherine. Sunday mass at this station is at 10:00AM.

St. John the Baptist kiburuti prayer house has only one small Christian community and Sunday mass is at 10:00AM.

St. John of the cross Tubakine has also one small Christian community and Sunday mass is at 10:00AM.

Kabutukii Sub-parish

St. Monica kabutukii is the prayer centre of the other three prayer houses in this subparish. It has seven small Christian community namely; St. Clare, St. john, St. Luke, St. Catherine, St. Francis, St. Mary and St. Charles Lwanga. Sunday mass is celebrated at 8:00AM.

St. martin farm prayer house has three small Christian communities; St. Ann, St. Clare and St. Lawrence. Sunday mass is at 10:00AM

Holy Family Nazareth prayer house has two small Christian communities; St. Mary and St. Anthony. Sunday mass is at 10:00AM

St. Cecilia Tutua prayer house has two small Christian communities. These are; St. Monica and St. Francis and Sunday masses are celebrated at 8:00AM.

Ndunyu-sabu sub-parish

- **St. Dominic ndunyu-sabu** is the centre church of the other four prayer houses in this sub-parish. The centre church has five small Christian communities. They include; St. Francis, St. Paul, St. Stephen, St. peter and St. perpetual. Sunday mass is celebrated at 8:00AM
- **St. Peter Njotene** prayer house has two small Christian communities; St. peter and St. Catherine. Sunday mass is celebrated at 10:00AM.
- **St. John Rwarera** prayer house has two small Christian communities, which include; St. john and St. Monica. Sunday mass is here celebrated at 10:00AM
- **St. Paul kithuene** prayer house has two small Christian communities; St. Paul and St. veronica
- **St. Faustina Njuruta** prayer house has two small Christian communities; St. Faustina and St. Catherine. Sunday mass is celebrated at 10:00AM.

All sub-parish prayer centres have masses every Sunday and other prayer houses have two or three masses in a month.

Weekday masses are celebrated only at the main church of the parish from Monday to Saturday at 7:00AM in Kiswahili and English. Confessions are from Tuesday to Saturday at 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM.